About the cancelled match feature

For anyone who doesn't know what I am referring to, this is from the new Dev blog and says as follows:

"Games starting with less than 5 players are currently a common occurrence. This is caused by unexpected situations that prevent players from loading in the game (crashes, player disconnections, Infinite Loading screen). 

Starting with the next mid-chapter update, if this situation is detected, players will be returned to the tally screen (keeping their items, addons and offerings) and will be notified that the game has been cancelled. We will continue to monitor the cases where games might start with less than 5 players and keep on improving the process.  "

Could this be abused by survivors to dodge lobbies? If the killer offering is a mori, black ward or pudding, the killer will probably have good addons and you could just cut out your internet connection or alt+f4 and keep your items and offerings.

A way I could think of countering this is that the offering screen is shown only after the loading screen, this way if a player disconnects it is handled like any other disconnect during a match.

Comments

  • That is a good point!

    We could get rid of that screen I guess?

  • That's a spooky thought...

  • So whats that "abuse" good for? Then next game you might play against the same killer with same addons and offerings.

  • if they're that commited to dodging a mori they'd dc or suicide on first hook anyways.

  • Offerings need to be hidden in general. There are already enough survivors who will quit during the loading screen when they see a secret offering (=mori).

    Concerning the op: I think it could very well be abused, especially by SWF groups. This is a very important issue.

  • Alternatively. We could just reveal the mori's AFTER the loading screen (and thus after quitting would return items ect)

  • There is a difference between DCing, and loading into a match with less than 4 survivors. If you DC, you won’t be keeping your items.

  • @Kaelum If a player sees a secret killer offering (=mori) and decides to close the game during the loading screen, then we should have the situation that the match doesn't start at all. Therefore, I see the potential for abuse, as long as offerings are shown during the loading screen.

  • @NoShinyPony in that situation, it counts as a DC. The moment that the offering screen is displayed, DCing is punishable, and your offering is taken away. If you close the game before the screen displays, you are safe. I don’t see how that can be abused.

  • @Kaelum Ah ok. I thought the critical point of time was at the end of the loading screen, before the match starts.

  • I do like this idea but remember it's not just survivors, if 3 or 4 farm map offerings pop up the killer sometimes dodges also.

    If they don't want to do that then they should at least make secret offering actually secret and stop showing them at all along with wards imo.

  • This is a really interesting question.

  • @MegsAreEvil This would increase queue times for unfortunate people who are in the same lobby as the dodger. There are going to be people who will never want to go against moris/black wards and will dc every time they see that offering

  • Even if they do dodge: (which i think will be rare as it takes too long to reboot dbd up and get another lobby, may as well play a match) Noone will lose any offerings or addons.. Its still alot better than a 3 man game which wastes everyones time imo.