Idea regarding lobbies
Pretend for the sake of this idea that there are actual good measures in place to properly punish people who disconnect too frequently.
1) When a lobby is started and players are waiting for the lobby to be filled, the Survivors' identies (both in terms of username and character choice) are concealed. This could be represented by displaying some shadow fog in place of a given Survivor.
2) Once all five players are in the lobby, a prompt is brought up displaying the usernames and their associated pings (maybe the Killer's username could be hidden from Survivors like it currently is, but their ping would still be shown) and a request for a confirmation from all players to begin the countdown. This is where players can choose to either lock in their confirmation to stay in the lobby or decline and leave with no penalty due to seeing trash pings or something. If one or more Survivors leave, everyone else just waits for the lobby to fill. I guess if the Killer leaves, the lobby closes (not sure if dedicated servers changes that).
3) Once a lobby is locked in and all players have confirmed to stay, the Survivors all step out of the shadow fog, and the countdown begins. This is where the players can see each other and adjust whatever they have to (obviously, Survivors won't be able to see the Killer, like how it currently is).
4) During this period, manually quitting the lobby is disabled, and anyone who eats through their ethernet cable to cut off the internet and be booted from the the lobby automatically will be treated as a DC. Naturally, if there were better measures in place to punish DCs, this would be more relevant, but let's pretend that this will be rectified in the future somehow.
The purpose of this would be to allow players to safely leave as a result of bad ping (or maybe they recognize a toxic player by a username? idk) while also dissuading people from lobbydodging because they see items and stuff that they don't like (again, suspend your disbelief with the DCs :P). The only thing I haven't figured out yet is whether someone DCing after everyone locked in a confirmation should disband the lobby or just return the Survivors to the shadow fog so the lobby can fill up, as seeing everyone's items and stuff at that point could allow people to lobby dodge penalty-free when they see items they don't like by declining the next confirmation prompt.
What do you think? Good idea? Bad idea? So-so idea?
Comments